This village has its origins in the Middle Ages as Castel delle Ripe. It later became Casteldurante, after the final defeat by the Ghibellines, and in 1636 it definitively changed its name to Urbania, in honour of Pope Urban VIII.
This picturesque village has a very regular urban layout, with long straight alleyways similar to that of a Roman camp. It is divided into four quarters (Porta Parco, Porta Cella, Porta Vecchia, Porta Nuova). In the historic centre there are buildings from various periods, some of which are of considerable architectural value, for example, the vast bulk of the Palazzo Ducale.
It originally belonged to the powerful Brancaleonis, the first feudal lords of Casteldurante, before passing on to the Montefeltro and Della Rovere families. It is now the Municipal Library. Famous all over the world are the ancient ceramics of Casteldurante, produced by local experts in majolica who were favoured by the Roverese Court and could benefit from the collaboration of famous painters giving life to the “Historiated” art genre.